Journal - Friday
No technology for an hour! This one was hard but when I was in the riding in the car, I decided not to play on my phone to pass the time by talking to my parents about their day and things of that sort. It was good that they had a nice day. Usually, I get dizzy when I go on my phone or read in the car so this was a good way to avoid that.
Journal- Saturday
Kaitlyn came over and we had a sleepover. Instead of watching Supernatural on Netflix, we put on our snowsuits, grabbed our water bottles ( have to stay hydrated!) and played in the snow. It sounds odd but it was a lot of fun. We got a couple of wierd looks from passerbys but they should be happy that we are happy and thats what really counts.
Journal - Sunday
Doesn't everyone love playing in the snow? I guess not. I can be the best thing ever especially when you are with a friend. Again, kaitlyn and I enjoyed galloping, jumping, crawling, running,digging and rolling through the snow. I had a very nice time without technology! Even my mom came outside and sat in the deck and bathed in the sun for a while, it was that nice outside. I think that everyone should have went outside for a while that day, the weather was too nice not to!
Monday, March 11, 2013
Thursday, March 7, 2013
Kindness, the quality of being friendly, generous and considerate.
I am going to pour my heart and soul into this journal. The challenge was to give someone a genuine compliment and I am not the best at doing this. I must admit, I get jealous over very stupid things. For example, someone is drawing the same thing as me but way better, I will neglect to say that theirs looks amazing and mine is a train wreck. Sometimes, I just am in a mood where I dont really want to compliment people but I am afraid that they will say that I look nice too and I don't really know how to respond. I'm just awkward. This challenge has made me realize that I am not very self confident and thats something I should work on. I figured that out during my turtle time. I need to stop keeping the majority of my compliments to myself and just go out of my comfort zone and tell someone they look great, maybe even someone that I don't normally talk to. This new challenge will help me a lot!
Wednesday, March 6, 2013
It's cool to be kind!
Kaitlyn and I are always joking about those girls that walk smack in the middle of the hall, obviously because they think they are better than everyone. I joke and pretend to be like that but when push comes to shove, I will move out of the way when the other person has their mind set on running me over. It is like that game, chicken, where you run, drive or any type of fast paced movement towards another person and the person that turns away first loses.
Today, as usual, the grade sevens being the obnoxious children they are, stood in a pack smack dab in the middle of the hallway. When I am trying to get through without crushing someone against a locker, it is just not going to happen. Eventually, they move but not without a murmur about how "amazing" the grade eights are or a dirty look, but thats the price you pay for walking in the hallways.
Today, as usual, the grade sevens being the obnoxious children they are, stood in a pack smack dab in the middle of the hallway. When I am trying to get through without crushing someone against a locker, it is just not going to happen. Eventually, they move but not without a murmur about how "amazing" the grade eights are or a dirty look, but thats the price you pay for walking in the hallways.
When I got home a absorbed so much water that if I was Spongebob, I would not get in my pineapple that day! One of my pet peeves is when my water isn't cold enough, I just can't drink it.
I think turtle time helps me write my blog, it helps me think about what happened during the day and thats exactly how it's supposed to work.
Tuesday, March 5, 2013
I like turtles!
The new challenge is to do have turtle time, I thought it was about turtles but then I understood the metaphor. When a turtle goes in its shell, its turtle time. Being alone is great, there is no one there to criticize you for doing something weird and you can just reflect. I didn't really know how to do this today so I just thought about my basketball game and how I could've improved, I occasionally stared at the wall but it was my first time having turtle time, usually I do that in bed when I can't fall asleep. This morning, I was the energy captain at my house, I had to turn of most of the lights, I can't blame anyone because I had left them on, woops!I had a feeling today was going to be a good day!
Monday, March 4, 2013
The lights!
I was so happy that we didn't have school today, a nice day to just relax on my own and just watch T.V. When I woke up, which was around noon, I congratulated myself then went to get some French Toast Crunch, just so I don't forget how to speak French! I realized that my family had left the dining room light on, the living room light on, the hallway light on and left the pantry door open which automatically has a light when it's open. I'm sure they were in a rush to get out of the house and just forgot about it.So me, the superheroe, turned off all ofthe lights because there was enough sunlight coming through the windows to illuminate the house. That is my story of the day, I didn't want to talk about the other challenges because I did them in a boring fashion.
Sunday, March 3, 2013
So much water!
For the water challenge, I have been using my Gatorade water bottle which is about three cups of water. I drank three of those today, I feel great! I am starting to clean up around my house because my brother is oblivious to the messes he makes! I am guessing that counts as picking up litter! When I was at the mall, I had a conversation with one of the cashiers, she was really friendly! More people should be like her, open to talking to new people, I am guessing thats why she has that job! Usually, I leave my lanterns in my room on for a very long time, even through the day. I recognized today that I don't really need them on all hours of the night! Today was a pretty boring day though. All I did was go to the mall and watch movies.
Saturday, March 2, 2013
Same old challenges ;)
I'm starting to remember to do my challenges easier. So now, I don't have to sit for a minute and think if what i need to do! we still need to drink water and I have realized sometimes when I am hungry, it is just my body telling me that I am thirsty! I guess I can cut down on the snacks now! Today, I just layed in bed and watched movies. The good thing that I did was I didn't have any of my lights on! I just let the sunlight seep in through the blinds so that I could actually seem something. I am hoping that there is a challenge that involves sleeping because it is one of my talents to sleep in until 3 o'clock!
Friday, March 1, 2013
Water! :)
Our new challenge was to drink more water! When i was at Andreas house, I had 6 huge glasses of water, i had to pee a lot. My body is getting the proper amount of hydration and i feel great! At her house, I turned off the lights in her room when we left, thats it. We kept on returning to her room because thats where our drinks were and I turned off the lights once again.
Thursday, February 28, 2013
Energy saving on day four of the Thirty Day Challenge!
Today's new challenge is to turn off the lights when you leave a room, if you're the last one. My family has already made this a habit because we always say that in the mornings , the last person to leave the house is the "energy captain" . This means, you have to turn off all the lights that were left on. It's not as bad as it sounds, it takes about one minute and if Im late, 10 seconds, I just sprint everywhere. Also, I had leadership and I did mini hockey. I spoke with some of the grade sevens which I never talk to and I realized that I need to talk to them more! Some of them, I have went to school with every year except two, grade five and kindergarten. I didn't even know their names! I actually felt bad. Onto happier topics, I read plain Kate again, i realized im pretty much addicted to my ipad. I couldn't stop thinking about the stupid things people could be posting on Facebook! After 5 minutes, I got right into the book and realized you don't need the Internet to read something funny! Foreign garbage, im hoping the garbage in my home are foreign enough! I went in the basement and my brother and dad had left their chip bag and dishes down there from the hockey game the night before. I decided despite my urge to watch T.V. It would be best to run them upstairs rather than have to stare at them while I watch T.V. I finished all my challenges in record time, just kidding. I'm exhausted for some unknown reason, maybe its all the good deeds I have completed. I am excited to see what tomorrows challenge will bring!
Wednesday, February 27, 2013
Day three! Reading, woohoo!
We had a new challenge, to read for pleasure today and the remaining twenty-six days. I had no trouble with this challenge because I love reading and I've been doing since a young age. I read Plain Kate for half an hour. It's about a girl that lives in a town where everyone believes in magic and obscure things, when the town goes through hardships they blame it on her because shes just plain Kate. It's an amazing book! Secondly, I love that feeling when people see you pickup litter, I just feel like a great person when I do it! Today, i didn't exactly pick up garbage, when I was in M. Pichés classroom, I saw that someone had left their fries scattered on the ground, why would you even waste fries? I decided to complete my challenge, I grabbed a tissue and picked up all the fries off the floor. It was pretty gross but at least I didn't leave them there to get stepped on! During lunch, I had found some change in my pocket, so I went to the canteen. I was in front of three grade sevens that I only interact with when I bump into them in the hallway. We talked about how short the lines are now that we have a vending machine and how I was one of their favorite grade eights, I was glad I struck a conversation with them. All in all, it was a great day and the only bad thing is I have a test tomorrow in Sc. hum. Im going to do a bit more reading tonight and study!
Tuesday, February 26, 2013
Day two of the Thirty Day Challenge!
Today, we had to do the same challenge as yesterday and pick up foreign litter that we find on the ground. I completed the first challenge by talking to one of the girls on the opposing teams in basketball. Her name was Natasha, we talked about how long she had been playing basketball. For the second challenge, when I got home from basketball, I went downstairs to play on my Xbox an there was a bunch of garbage on the other side of the room that my brother might have left there. I decided to be a good person and throw out the garbage and recycle the recylables. Some people aren't as considerate as others and I think everyone should try to improve the environment around them and be kind to others by saying hello and making small talk with a stranger.
Monday, February 25, 2013
The 30 day challenge! :D
I started the first challenge today, it is to say hi, wave, smile at a person you wouldn't normally talk to or have never met before. I only did this once today, after basketball practice. My mom was late and the grade 4 open house was today. An adorable little boy came in the school with his mom and i said hi and waved. they waved back but didn't seem like they wanted to talk. i realized that not everyone is friendly enough and open to meeting new people.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)